Trash Collection issue update

blog ornament

rainbow_logogm-jpgI have, since my previous entry, exchanged numerous emails with Ms. Allison Tyldesley Associate Director, Collection and Diversion Operations Waste Management Services, Public Works of Niagara Region. While I was dealing with this trash Nazi, I had the pleasure of perusing the regional codes as they apply to waste disposal in our area. There was nothing to corroborate this woman’s insistence that we are legally prohibited from dropping off used kitty litter at the local trash disposal sites.

Allison Tysleydale.pngMs. Tyldesley lied through her teeth, and then when I asked to speak to her boss, I got no reply. Forty minutes later, the SPCA showed up and started to bang on our door. She attempted in her last email to define it as “toxic waste” in order to use misdirection as a means to block our ability to drop it off at the dump. It is defined in the regional bylaws as “organic waste”. There is nothing in the law that says we cannot drop it off at the dump free of charge, yet when Aaron tries to do so, he is informed he cannot for whatever reason.

She has repeatedly insisted we leave all of it on the curb for pickup on garbage day- I have countered every time that I felt it would be inconsiderate to our neighbors to leave something so malodorous on the sidewalk for hours- insisting the only polite way to manage the waste is to drop it off ourselves several times  week to reduce odors. I also have concerns for the garbagemen because it is heavy and I do not wish to overburden them.

I also spoke extensively with this woman last summer about this same problem, she reassured me within weeks they would resolve some cryptic issue through the Provincial government and I would have no further problem with trash disposal blocks on my business.

To date, I have accumulated over $700 worth of trash disposal fees from being billed by the local dump, under false pretexts, to drop off this cat litter waste. They have charged us by weight, if you can imagine. All you pet owners out there who use clumping clay litter can understand just how heavy this stuff is, and how absurd the behavior of those who break the law, and, I imagine, pocket the extra money on the side.

I have consulted with my business partner, Lord Rothschild, on this matter, and I will be making further calls to the Niagara Region municipal government and plan to report here about our progress as this story unfolds. So far it appears there is some sort of anti-Semitic agenda in regional government that engages in racial profiling, restricting services to residents according to principles that violate the Ontario Human Rights Code.

Our family has been investigating the food banks on a regular basis, and the quality of donations shows a marked lack of basic concern for the health of citizens in the area.

blog ornament inverse

Leave a comment